Range Cooker Buying Guides
Range Cooker Warranty: 9 Brands, and the 30-Day Catch
By the Hill & May team
Updated 2026
A range cooker warranty is only as long as the paperwork behind it. Most of the big brands give you their headline cover only if you register the cooker within 30 days, and several count those 30 days from delivery while others count from the day you paid. Miss the window and an Aga’s five years of parts drops back, a Rangemaster’s two years becomes one, and you are left relying on the retailer.
We checked each maker’s own warranty terms on 9 October 2026. Where a maker’s site no longer carries its terms, we say where the figure comes from. Warranty terms change, so read the version that comes with your cooker.
Range cooker warranties by brand
| Brand | Standard cover | Register within | Clock starts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aga | 5 years parts, 12 months labour | 30 days | Delivery |
| Rangemaster | 1 year, or 2 years parts and labour if registered | 30 days | Delivery |
| Falcon | 3 years parts and labour | 30 days | Delivery |
| Mercury | 3 years parts and labour | 30 days | Delivery |
| Stoves | 1, 2 or 3 years parts and labour, by model (some models: 5 years parts, 1 year labour) | 30 days | Purchase |
| Belling | 1, 2 or 3 years parts and labour, by model | 30 days | Purchase |
| Smeg | 2 years; 5 years on listed models if registered | Register promptly (no deadline stated on the registration page) | Not stated |
| Lacanche | 3 years | Not stated | Not stated |
| Esse | 2 years when bought from an Esse Specialist | Automatic, but register anyway | Supply |
Falcon and Mercury figures come from UK stockist listings, including Rangecookers.co.uk, because Falcon’s own UK website did not load when we checked. Everything else is from the maker’s own warranty page.
Aga: five years of parts, but only one year of labour
Aga’s warranty page says all its cooking appliances get the full manufacturer’s warranty “upon registration within 30 days of delivery”, covering “all parts for five years and labour within the first 12 months on cookers”. Accidental damage is excluded.
The labour line matters more than the headline. From the start of year two, Aga supplies parts free, but you pay an engineer to fit them. On a heat-storage or electric Aga the labour can be most of the bill, so budget for it. Aga’s in-warranty repair form also asks whether the cooker has been converted to LPG and whether it is used commercially, so tell Aga about either when you register.
Ex-display Agas are different: Aga covers them for functional defects only, provided the appliance is under six years old when you buy it, and offers only 12 months if the product is graded. If you are buying from a showroom floor, our ex-display kitchen guide covers what else to check. Model by model, our Aga eR7 review and Aga eR3 review cover the current electric cookers.
Rangemaster: register or lose the second year
Rangemaster’s standard cover is one year. Its support page says that if you register within 30 days of delivery “you will receive a further 12 month warranty absolutely free”. You can register online or return the form packed with the cooker.
Until 31 October 2026, eligible Rangemaster range cookers can go to five years parts and labour under a separate promotion, with its own 28-day claim from delivery. That claim is a different step from normal registration. Our page on the Rangemaster 5 year warranty offer sets out the dates, models and form; do both.
Falcon and Mercury: three years, same 30-day rule
Falcon and Mercury are sold as more professional-style ranges, and stockists list both with a three-year parts and labour warranty, with registration required within 30 days of delivery. Register on the day the cooker arrives: the serial number is easiest to photograph before the cooker is pushed into place.
Stoves and Belling: the clock starts when you pay
Stoves and Belling are both Glen Dimplex Home Appliances brands, and their warranty pages say the same thing: register “within 30 days of purchasing” the appliance. That is the trap. Range cookers are often ordered weeks before they arrive, and on a 30-days-from-purchase rule a cooker with a six-week lead time has run out of registration window before it is out of the box. Register as soon as you have the order confirmation and the model number; you can phone 0800 952 1065 for Stoves if the online form wants a serial number you do not yet have.
The length of cover depends on the model, so check the product page or the box: 1, 2 or 3 years parts and labour, and on some Stoves models 5 years of parts with labour in the first year only. In years two to five on that last type, Stoves supplies parts free only when an approved Stoves engineer fits them and you pay the labour.
Smeg: two years, or five on the right models
Smeg’s UK warranty page says all its appliances come with a two-year manufacturer guarantee, and a selection of appliances qualify for an extended five-year warranty if you register them. Smeg publishes the eligible models as a PDF list, which includes range cookers such as the A1-9 and several Portofino models. Our Smeg cooker review covers the range cookers in detail. We could not find a registration deadline on the registration page, so register when the cooker arrives rather than relying on there being no limit.
Lacanche and Esse
Lacanche’s UK site advertises a three-year cooker warranty, and stockists describe it as three years parts and labour. Its terms page did not load when we checked, so ask the dealer for the registration process when you order.
Esse is the exception: its products “purchased through an ESSE Specialist will automatically be covered” by a two-year warranty against faulty manufacture. Esse says the dealer service behind that is not available when buying from national online retailers beyond statutory responsibilities. The guarantee is personal to the original buyer and needs the cooker to be installed and serviced by competent engineers. Register anyway through Esse’s warranty page so your details are on file.
What every warranty excludes
Read the exclusions before you rely on any of these:
- Accidental damage is excluded across the board.
- Cosmetic damage you did not report on delivery. Inspect the enamel, doors and handrail before the delivery crew leaves, and note marks on the delivery note.
- Installation faults. Gas range cookers must be installed by a Gas Safe registered engineer, and makers can refuse claims where the installation was wrong.
- Consumables such as bulbs, seals and oven liners are often excluded or limited.
- Commercial use, and sometimes LPG conversion, needs disclosing.
Check your model against the government product recall list too; our cooker recalls page tracks current notices.
Your rights underneath any warranty
A manufacturer’s warranty is extra. Your legal rights are against the retailer, under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, whether or not you registered anything:
- Within 30 days of delivery you can reject a faulty cooker for a full refund.
- Within six months, the fault is presumed to have been there from the start, and the retailer must repair or replace it. If that fails, you can ask for a refund or a price reduction.
- After six months, you can still claim for up to six years in England, Wales and Northern Ireland (five years from when you could first claim in Scotland), but it is usually on you to show the fault was there when the cooker was sold.
So a missed registration is not the end of the road, it just moves the argument from the manufacturer to the shop.
A registration checklist for delivery day
- Photograph the data badge or serial number, the model code, and the delivery note.
- Register online the same day, before the 30-day window starts to feel far away.
- Save the confirmation email or policy document with your receipt.
- If a promotion is running, send the separate promotion claim as well.
- Put the warranty end date in your calendar, so you book any niggles before it runs out.
Still choosing a cooker? Our range cooker buying guide and Aga vs Rangemaster comparison weigh warranty against everything else.
Frequently asked questions
How long is a range cooker warranty? It depends on the brand: Aga gives 5 years of parts and 12 months of labour, Falcon, Mercury and Lacanche 3 years, Rangemaster 2 years once registered, Esse 2 years, Smeg 2 years or 5 on listed models, and Stoves and Belling 1 to 3 years depending on model.
Do I have to register my range cooker for the warranty? For most brands, yes, to get the full cover. Aga, Rangemaster, Falcon, Mercury, Stoves and Belling all ask for registration within 30 days. Esse covers its cookers automatically when bought from an Esse Specialist.
What happens if I miss the 30-day registration deadline? You may lose the extended part of the cover: a Rangemaster drops to one year, for example. Contact the maker anyway, as some will still help, and remember your Consumer Rights Act claim against the retailer is unaffected.
Does an Aga warranty cover labour? Only for the first 12 months. After that, Aga supplies parts free for the rest of the five years, but you pay the engineer’s labour.
Does the 30 days start from purchase or delivery? From delivery for Aga, Rangemaster, Falcon and Mercury. Stoves and Belling count 30 days from purchase, which can run out before a cooker with a long lead time arrives.
Is a range cooker warranty transferable if I sell my house? Usually not. Esse says its guarantee is personal to the original purchaser and not transferable, and most makers tie cover to the registered owner, so ask the maker before relying on it.
Sources
- Aga, warranty and in-warranty repair page (agaliving.com), as published in 2026.
- Rangemaster, How do I register my warranty and how long is it for?, read 9 October 2026.
- Stoves and Belling warranty information pages, read 9 October 2026.
- Smeg UK register-a-warranty page and 5-year warranty product list, read 9 October 2026.
- Esse warranty information page; Lacanche UK home page; Rangecookers.co.uk listings for Falcon, Mercury and Lacanche, read 9 October 2026.
- Consumer Rights Act 2015, legislation.gov.uk.